University of New South Wales - UNSW


The University of New South Wales or the UNSW is one of Australia’s foremost teaching and research universities.


Renowned for its quality of alumni, its motto of “Scientia Manu et Mente”

or “Knowledge by Hand and Mind” completely encompasses its philosophy of a balance between practical or hands-on knowledge and scholarly or book knowledge.


Founded in 1949, the UNSW boasts a matriculation of 40,000 students, 7,000 of which are students from around the world from more than a 130 countries. Programs offered at the UNSW include 600 undergraduate and 300 postgraduate courses.


Situated in Kensington, the UNSW is only seven kilometers from Sydney’s central business district. Colleges under the UNSW are Arts and Social Sciences, Built Environment, Engineering, Law, Medicine and Science,

Fine Arts and Business and Management.

University of New South Wales, UNSW


In the field of research, the UNSW is involved in:

  • Quantum Computing

  • Molecular Engineering

  • Photovoltaics

  • Robotics

  • Biomedical Research

  • Financial Markets and Design

  • Interactive Cinema

The beginnings of the UNSW:

  • 1843 – The Sydney Mechanics Institute was established and its main aim was “the diffusion of scientific and special knowledge”.

  • 1878 – The Sydney Technical College was established to teach the aforementioned aim of the Institute.

  • 1949 – The new university, by an Act of Parliament, was incorporated and initially operated within the Sydney Technical College until its expansion  and move to Kensington.

  • 1951 – The university opened its doors to international students.

  • 1958 – The university became known as the University of New South Wales.

  • 1980s – The UNSW became one of the top universities in Australia.

The University of New South Wales is founder and part of an elite group of universities called the Group of Eight or the Go8. Only leading universities in Australia are part of this exclusive group. Members are:

  • The University of Adelaide

  • The Australian National University

  • The University of Melbourne

  • Monash University

  • The University of New South Wales

  • The University of Queensland

  • The University of Sydney

  • The University of Western Australia

The slogan of the Group of Eight is: “Building the intellectual, social, cultural, and economic excellence of Australia’s future”.

The University of New South Wales is making great efforts to become the greenest campus in Australia. With over 60 researchers from different disciplines joining the research into Climate Change in 2007, its aim towards environmental sustainability is a great possibility.